Chicken Burritos

Original post found through Pinterest.  I have to find it again…

Ingredients

1 lb chicken breast

1 yellow onion, which I skipped because silly me forgot to put it on the grocery list. I was a bit of a mess Sunday.

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 can black beans, rinsed (the recipe said to use a bit less than a whole can but I used the whole thing)

Cheese – I used the ShopRite Mexican blend (the recipe called for 6 tablespoons but that was just not enough for me – I probably used a lot more)

Tortillas (the recipe said to use 3 large flour tortillas.  I instead used 8 whole grain tortillas that were labeled burrito-size. Probably the reason additional cheese was necessary.)

Directions

Cut the chicken (and onion if you have it) into bite sized pieces,  Add with cumin and chili powder to a fry pan on medium heat.  Cook until the chicken is heated through.

Add black beans and cook for another minute while stirring then remove from heat.

Here the recipe and I took different approaches.  The recipe went on to put cheese and several spoonfuls of the chicken/beans into tortillas, wrap, and head on each side for a few minutes until golden brown.

I instead added my cheese to the mixture when the black beans went in. Then just wrapped and served.  My tortilla kept breaking and crumbling and it was just easier to skip the last bit.

Serve with sour cream or salsa or guacamole or whatever floats your boat.

Notes

I liked it.  I make ground beef and refried bean tortillas pretty regularly. This was nice for something a little different. Definitely would do again… and probably will try a different brand of tortillas since these ones just failed.

One response to “Chicken Burritos

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – 5/17/2015 | Noms Away

Leave a Reply

