Oven Fajitas

2 posts in 1 day! This is madness!

But really, it’s absolutely delicious.  I’ve made this recipe several times since I first found it and enjoy it immensely.

Oven Fajitas

Original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients

2 small or 1 large onion

2 green bell peppers

1 red bell pepper

1 lb chicken

2 tablespoon vegetable oil

8 6″ tortillas

1/4 cup optional sour cream

Recipe also mentions lime juice and optional cilantro that I haven’t tried

Also, the link names 9 different seasonings to mix as the fajita seasoning.  They’re fairly similar to a basic taco seasoning mix which I always have on hand so I typically use that instead.

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the onion(s) and peppers into strips about 1/4 to 1/2″ wide. Place in 9 x 13 casserole dish.

Slice the chicken breast into thin strips as well and add to the veggies.

Sprinkle seasoning and drizzle the oil over everything.  Use your hands to toss until everything is coated.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, stirring once about halfway through.  Scoop onto tortilla and top with sour cream or whatever else if desired.

Notes

Like I mentioned early, I’ve made this several times since the first time I tried it. Have enjoyed it immensely.

When I made it yesterday, I made about 1.5 lbs chicken instead of 1 and gotta say, it was better with the lower amounts of chicken. Didn’t quite get as good of a veggie to meat mix.

Also yesterday I left it in the oven more like the full 40 minutes and it was a bit drier. Prolly could do with only the 35 min next time.

One response to “Oven Fajitas

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – April 26, 2015 | Noms Away

Leave a Reply

