Meal Plan – April 26, 2015

I go food shopping for myself and my fiance once a week and always make a meal plan for the week.  I leave it open ended as far as what to eat which day and therefore try to have a mix of things for when we’re short on time (band practice days for him or dance practice days for me) or for when I’ve got some extra time to make a longer meal.  I also only plan on dinners.  Workday breakfasts are simple and quick – cereal or an English muffin – and lunch is almost always leftovers or a frozen meal – either prepared at home and frozen or the occasional store bought frozen.  I keep eggs, milk and pancake mix on hand for the weekend mornings when I’ve feeling cook-y but given the prices at the local diner for brunch, it’s usually not worth the time or effort to make it at home.

I’m rambling but what else is new.  The point is that I have been very diligent about keeping to a meal plan schedule and about keeping a food diary for the purposes of my current weight loss goals but I still can’t remember to update this blog to save my life.  So new goal – every week after setting the meal plan, I’ll post it here and link to the recipes for anything I’ve made before.  Then I’ll come back and link to each meal after I try that’s new.  I’m hoping by mentally adding it to my current meal plan goals anyway, it’ll keep more more on track.  I’ve got a secret board on Pinterest where I post anything I plan to make but haven’t yet and right now it’s getting crowded with things I’ve made but just have been too lazy and absentminded to write about.

Anyway, here’s the meal plan from yesterday’s shopping trip:

Oven Fajitas – not a new meal but one I haven’t written about despite making several times previously

Hot Dogs with baked beans and store bought potato salad – I won’t bother with posting recipes for something as low key as this.

Leftover Burritos or Lightened Up Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas served with a side salad – last week was a crazy busy week so the week previously I doubled burrito and quesadilla recipes to freeze and eat later. Still some left so that’ll be a quick dinner this week, probably on laundry day.

Chicken Mozzarella Pasta with Sun Dried tomatoes and a side Caesar salad – new recipe

Crab Macaroni and Cheese – new recipe

That’s actually it for this week and is about how many meals I buy in a usual shopping trip. There’s usually a day or two where other plans keep us out of the house and therefore not cooking.  So that’s it for now and fingers crossed this keeps me better about posting!

Leave a Reply

