Lightened Up Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

Original post found here but I adapted quite a bit so below is mine. Unfortunately – because I am awful with noting ingredient amounts.

Ingredients

Shredded chicken – I had a 1.64 lb container that I cooked and shredded

Buffalo sauce – I use Red’s – maybe 1/2 a cup or so, give or take, enough to give a coating of the chicken

About 4 oz cream cheese (I use 1/3 less fat)

2 cups cheese – this time I used cheddar but in regular buffalo dip I’ve used just about anything (cheddar, mozzarella, mexican blend, or whatever else)

8 Tortillas

Oil or cooking spray

Ranch for dipping (I use light ranch)

Directions

Heat skillet to medium heat.

Spread one side of each tortilla with cream cheese.  Toss chicken with buffalo sauce.

Lightly grease pan. Place tortilla on pan, top with 1/8 of the chicken mixture and a sprinkle of cheese and fold in half.

Allow to cook for 2 minutes then flip for 2 minutes on the other side.

Repeat for all tortillas.  Serve with ranch dressing on the side.

Notes

I don’t know if it actually is, but this feels just oh so much healthier than regular buffalo chicken dip.  In regular tip, I use equal parts buffalo sauce, cream cheese, and ranch.  By using cream cheese just on the tortilla, I used about half as much as usual, and by just having ranch for dipping sauce- was far far less.  I also conserved on cheese, actually only used about 1 3/4 cups.  All in all felt healthier than it could’ve.

Plus it was tasty.

2 responses to “Lightened Up Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – April 26, 2015 | Noms Away

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan – 1/2/17 | Noms Away

Leave a Reply

