Garlic Mozzarella Grilled Cheese

Grilled cheese meet your new best friend garlic bread:

 

Garlic Mozzarella Grilled Cheese

 

Originally from here.

 

Ingredients

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried oregano

8 oz shredded mozzarella cheese

12 slices white bread

1 24-oz jar vodka marinara sauce (optional)

 

Directions

Preheat your oven’s broilers.

Place 6 slices of bread onto a baking sheet.  Spread a handful of mozzarella on each slice.  Top with remaining 6 slices of bread.

Mix together butter and garlic powder. Brush over tops of sandwiches (or spread with back of tbsp). Sprinkle with dried oregano.

Place baking sheet under broiler for 2 to 3 minutes, until golden brown.  Remove from oven, flip sandwiches, and brush other side with butter mixture and oregano.  Return to broiler and cook until golden – another 2 minutes or so.

Cut sandwiches and serve with sauce for dipping.

 

Notes

Well… fail. I may’ve come a little too close for comfort to setting something on fire.  I haven’t used my oven’s broiler before and I guess it cooks particularly hot because after less than 2 minutes, I pulled out smoking charred sandwiched. Bleh.

Thankfully, I had more ingredients and cooked them on stove top instead – which is how I make regular grilled cheese anyway.

I also skipped the vodka marinara for dipping, opting for grilled cheese’s favorite tomato bisque soup instead.

Despite getting off to a bad start, the garlic bread sandwiches were really tasty.  Definitely worth repeating – on the stove top again, I’m sticking away from the broiler for a bit.

Leave a comment