Burritos

So my family was never big into Mexican/Tex-Mex kinds of food growing up.  That changed for me when I met Boyfriend, who could pretty much live on Taco Bell and similar. So in my recipe hunting, I’ve tried to keep similar in regular rotation.  And these burritos definitely fit that bill. So onward:

Burritos

Original recipe found right over here.

Ingredients

2 lbs ground beef

1 onion, chopped (I didn’t actually use but is in original recipe)

1 pkg taco seasoning

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp oregano

Parsley, to taste

1 cup sour cream

2 lbs shredded Montery Jack cheese (or similar – I think I actually used a Mexican or Taco blend)

3/4 cup taco sauce

20 flour tortillas (says the recipe, I used 1 whole package of a dozen tortillas)

*This wasn’t in the original but I also added a can of refried beans.

Directions

Brown the ground beef (and onions if applicable).  Add taco seasoning, pepper, oregano, parsley, sour cream, 1/2 the cheese, and 1/2 the taco sauce.  Mix well.

Place 2 or so tablespoons of the mixture on a tortilla shell and roll up.

Place tortilla seam side down in a 9 x 13 casserole dish **

**Before putting in casserole dish, you can also freeze individual servings.  Wrap in plastic wrap and freeze.  Don’t add remaining sauce and cheese though unless/until baking.

In casserole dish, top with remaining cheese and taco sauce.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes or until cheese melts and it’s heated through.

Notes

Yum..

I made about 4 or 5 (it was a few weeks ago) for that day and put another 7 or 8 in the freezer.  Since I knew so many were heading to the freezer and that those freezer ones would likely be taken to work- I put a bit more than 1/2 of the cheese and taco sauce in the mixture.  I left more than enough to put on top of the casserole dish but I figured that’d keep the freezer tortillas a little cheesier and such.

Definitely worth repeating. No real comments on any changes – although I definitely liked it without the onions and with the beans.

2 responses to “Burritos

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan – April 26, 2015 | Noms Away

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan – May 3, 2015 | Noms Away

Leave a Reply

