Slow Cooker General Tso’s Chicken

I know, I know. I’ve been slacking.  I’ve got a bucket load of excuses – some of them are even decent ones. But on the the bright side – my slacking has been only about writing up my comments, not about trying new things.  I’ve got a meal with 2 sides and another couple meals or so already tried that’ll be posted as soon as I can get it typed.  So here we get going:

Slow Cooker General Tso’s Chicken

The original posting I found can be found right over here.

Ingredients

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast (cut into 1 inch strips)

3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

3 tablespoons dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon dried ginger

2 tablespoons low-sodium Soy sauce

1 16-ounce bag frozen broccoli florets (or frozen vegetables such as asparagus spears, carrots, cauliflower)

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (reduce amount if you don’t like it quite as spicy)

Directions

In a large bowl toss the chicken pieces with the garlic, sugar, ginger, Soy sauce, and red pepper flakes. Then, pour it all into a 4-quart slow-cooker, including any of the drippings and leftover sauce from the mixing bowl.

Turn the slow-cooker to low and cook for 5 hours. Then, add the broccoli (or your selected frozen vegetables) and turn the slow-cooker to high and cook for an additional hour. Serve over white or brown rice and top with chopped scallions.

Notes

So I didn’t have high hopes for this one.  I’m pretty skeptical of anything that claims to be a substitute for restaurant or take out food.    And this proved I have good reason to.  I’ve eaten plenty of general tsp’s chicken over the years from plenty of different places but this did not taste like any of those.  I had about 1/2 a serving and Boyfriend ate it the rest because I just wasn’t enjoying it.  Ah well, when you try a whole lot of recipes- you’ll get some are great and others that aren’t so great.  This was one of those.

Leave a Reply

