Slow Cooker Fiesta Chicken

Rounding out a little over a week of new slow cooker meals, here’s one for you:

 

Slow Cooker Fiesta Chicken

Found right over here.

 

Ingredients

2 – 2 1/2 lbs chicken breast, fat trimmed

2 14oz cans of diced tomatoes, undrained

2 10oz cans of corn, drained

1 15oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 pkg of taco seasoning

 

Directions

Combine all ingredients in slow cooker.  Cook for 4-5 hours on high or 8 hours on low.  Shred chicken with fork and stir to combine.  Serve over rice or as taco/tortilla filling.  Top with cheese or sour cream if desired.

 

Notes

I cooked it for about 7 1/2 hours on low, put it on “keep warm” for 30-45 minutes when we ran out on an errand, and then low for another 15 minutes or so while I got the rice together.  That was pretty much perfect.  Meat thermometer read the temp as just right and the chicken shred extremely easily for me.

I decided to halve the recipe.  2 or 2 1/2 lbs of chicken and etc sounded like a whole lot of food for 2 people.  I couldn’t find the black beans in a smaller size and wasn’t going to halve the taco seasoning packet but I think it worked out just fine.

I made Knorr’s Fiesta Sides Mexican Rice and served the Fiesta chicken over.  Boyfriend liked and said it was worth doing again.  I thought it was alright but I wasn’t blown away although……….

I’m an idiot.  I definitely bought both cheese (Mexican blend) and sour cream to top the meal with and definitely forgot about the sour cream until I was done eating and about the cheese until I went to type this post.  I said to Boyfriend “incase you were wondering what would have made this meal better, it was the sour cream and cheese we bought and I forgot about”.  Drats.  We’ll use it with the leftovers I guess and I’ll almost certainly try this one again with cheese and sour cream.

Leave a Reply

