Slow Cooker Steak Teriyaki

For Christmas, Boyfriend’s mother so generously gave me my first slow cooker.  Last week, I tried my very first slow cooker recipe.

 

Slow Cooker Steak Teriyaki

 

Ingredients

1.5 lb of steak – My food store had precut strips labeled specifically for teriyaki so I grabbed that.

1 package of Teriyaki veggies – My food store brand has a package of frozen vegetables containing carrots, onions, the kind of vegetables you’d find in a teriyaki meal so I went with that rather than grabbing each fresh.

1 cup of teriyaki sauce – I used a Kikkoman less sodium teriyaki marinade and sauce

 

Directions

With steak and veggies defrosted, place the ingredients in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8 hours.  Serve over white rice if you want (I bought just minute rice and cooked up 2 servings worth based on their directions)

 

Notes

Coming home to an apartment with food ready to eat is pretty fabulous.  Boyfriend turned on the slow cooker around 9:30 am and I lowered it from “low” to “keep warm” when I got in from work around 5 while I prepared the rice.

I don’t have the original recipe anymore, it was so simple that I didn’t bother keeping it. But despite the original suggestion saying 8 hours on low and my only having done it for 7 1/2 hours – my meat was overcooked.  I don’t know if my slow cooker runs hot or I’ve messed something up somewhere.  In the future, I’m going to have to see what I can see to see and test around a bit more.

The overcooked meat was obviously disappointing but other than that – the frozen vegetables was a nice mix, the teriyaki sauce was really very good, and the rice was easy but 2 servings was far too much for 2 people, even with leftovers.

I guess I’ll have to try again at another point while cooking for less.

Leave a Reply

