Bubble Up Buffalo

February 13, 2013 was the first time I ever tried my hand at making a recipe found on Pinterest.  It was Bubble Up Pizza.  That adventure can be found here.  Since then, I’ve made Bubble Up Pizza again countless times and Boyfriend hails it as his favorite meal. Back in December, we went to visit a friend up in Maine and I cooked dinner on our last night there to repay their hospitality.  Boyfriend of course suggested Bubble Up Pizza but the friend misheard him thinking he was saying Bubble Up Buffalo (how he got confused on that I don’t understand but anyway)… and that got me thinking.  In Maine, I made the Bubble Up Pizza but last night, I got to experimenting and tried Bubble Up Pizza meets Buffalo Chicken Dip.  The results:

 

Bubble Up Buffalo

 

Ingredients

4 7.5-oz Pillsbury Grands Biscuits (my store has the 4 together in a pack)

1 lb Chicken

1 cup Ranch dressing

1 8-oz container of Cream Cheese

1 cup Frankie’s Hot Sauce

2 cups of Cheese – dealers choice. I’ve made buffalo dip before using anything from cheddar to mozzarella to mexican cheese blends to options are pretty much whatever floats your boat.

 

Directions

First, cook and shred the chicken.

Next up, cut the grands muffins into quarters.  Then mix up all the ingredients (minus the cheese) and pour into a casserole dish.  Add the cheese on top (although you can mix in some of the cheese as well).

Bake in an oven preheated to 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes.

 

Notes

Alright – I was stupid when making this.  Because theoretically, I could have been (should have been) cutting the muffins and mixing everything else together while the chicken was cooking.  If I had done that, once the chicken was done I would just have to shred the chicken and let it all bake.  But silly me didn’t do that.  I did everything with the chicken first and then the rest of it.  Which meant that in total – it took nearly 2 full hours to get to eat.

You could also probably expedite everything by getting rotisserie chicken at the food store and just shredding that – which would take out the extra time needed to cook the chicken.

Even with these suggestions – it’ll probably take longer than an average week night’s dinner.

When I made it, I only used 3 7.5-oz muffins containers which I don’t think was enough.  I probably would’ve rather had a higher bread to dip ratio which is why I suggest 4 containers instead of 3 in the ingredients above.

Overall though, I think it came out really well – tasty and really good for a Friday night while watching a movie.

Leave a Reply

