Chocolate Peanut Butter No Bake Dessert

I’ve been avoiding this post for days now but I guess I better add it.

On Saturday, two close friends held a Thanksgiving Part 2 pot luck.  I volunteered to bring mashed potatoes (nothing fancy) and a dessert.  So I decided to give this No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter thing a try.

Chocolate Peanut Butter No Bake Dessert

The original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients

  • 20 Oreo cookies, divided
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided
  • 1 carton (16 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed, divided
  • 15-20 miniature peanut butter cups, chopped
  • 1 cup cold milk
  • 1 package (3.9 ounces) instant chocolate pudding mix

 

Directions

Crush 16 cookies; toss with the butter. Press into an ungreased 9-inch square dish; set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter and 1 cup confectioners’ sugar until smooth.

Fold in half of the whipped topping. Spread over crust.

Sprinkle with chopped peanut butter cups.

In another large bowl, beat the milk, pudding mix and remaining confectioners’ sugar on low speed for 2 minutes. Let stand for 2 minutes or until soft-set.

Fold in remaining whipped topping. Spread over peanut butter cups.

Crush remaining cookies; sprinkle over the top. Cover and chill for at least 3 hours.

 

Notes

Ugh.  It was a hot damn mess.  I am clearly not fit for this.

First things first, I tried prebuying a crust rather than doing the mashing up cookies thing.  I bought the oreo kind.

Next after beating the first set of ingredients, whipped cream is supposed to be added before tossing it into the crust.  I definitely forgot the cream.  And I think it’s a result of this that the much stickier peanut butter/sugar concoction  broke apart my oreo crust into pieces.  Gah! I added the whipped cream on top in an awful attempt to make up for this.

Then with the pudding.  It was so thin, I don’t think it soft set like it was supposed to.  And there was so much of it that I couldn’t fit it all.  I don’t know how deep of a container the original poster was using but mine was just not cut out for this ish. I kept the rest in a bowl which I actually ate on it’s own later.

Finally, I budgeted my time poorly (my bad) and we only had about an hour for it to set before leaving.  Which was no where near enough time.  So when I tried to move everything to the car to head out to the pot luck – pudding went everywhere!

At the party though, the messy desserty disaster had more time to set and actually tasted pretty cook.  It looked godawful but tasted pretty great.  I guess that’ll happen when your main ingredients are peanut butter and chocolate.  Even I couldn’t mess up the taste on that, although lord knows with this dessert I tried.

Leave a Reply

