Buffalo Chicken Dip

So, I was wondering around Pinterest (what else is new?) and I found a posting about Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas.  The original poster started by putting her regular buffalo chicken dip in a tortilla and toasting and when she wanted that again without going through the whole process of making the dip- she shortened the process and the recipe was born.  I’m not going to link to that post this time because I feel fairly certain I’ll give the shorter version a try at some point in the future but the anecdote at the start got me thinking.

Why didn’t I think of that?

Boyfriend and I both enjoy buffalo chicken dip but I haven’t made it once this football season (which is the most perfect excuse for dip) because he’s got braces on and tortilla chips are firmly in the “Do Not Have” category.  But wrapped in a tortilla? That’s pretty solidly in the “Can Have” or definitely should have group.

So Friday night, since I had time to do the full thing, Buffalo Chicken Dip it is.

 

Buffalo Chicken Dip

 

Ingredients

  • 1 lbs of Chicken
  • 1 8oz block of Cream Cheese
  • 1 cup of Ranch Dressing
  • 1 cup of Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • 1 cup of Cheese – dealer’s choice, this particular time I used ShopRite Brand Mexican Blend but I’ve made it before with cheddar, mozzarella, and pepper jack so got with what you’ve got/like.

 

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350.

Boil the chicken by putting it in a large pot, filling with enough water to cover and putting on the stove.  Bring the water to boil and let simmer until the chicken is cooked through – for the boneless skinless breasts that I used as my chicken – that took about 15-20 minutes.  Drain the chicken.

While the chicken is heating up, mix up the cream cheese, ranch, and hot sauce in a large bowl.  This is easiest if the cream cheese is softened first.  My stove top normally gets pretty warm while one burner is on so I leave the cheese on alongside the burner for a bit once the chicken goes on and add that to the bowl last.

Next step – Shred. There’s probably other ways to shred chicken but what I always do is put a fork in it.  Literally.  I stick one fork in the larger part of the chicken piece and use a second to pull smaller pieces of chicken off.  Once done, add the chicken to the bowl with the mixed up ingredients.  Toss them all together and ensure the chicken is coated.

Now into the pan – a 9×13 normally works for me.  Add the cheese on top.  Then cook for about 20 minutes or so – really just until the cheese melts and everything warms up together – the chicken has already been cooked so it’s not like anything bad will happen if it’s not in as long.

Serve with tortilla chips or just tortilla.  For the tortilla, toast in a saucepan for just a minute or so each side.

 

Notes

I got none. I’ve made the dip many times before, I’m happy with how it comes out.

The quesadilla part of it was a great idea for anyone who doesn’t like chips or can’t eat them.  

I’ll definitely be trying the original poster’s quicker version at some point though.

 

Leave a Reply

